Advertisment:
Welcome, Guest!
with your Anime Forum account or Register (Forgot Password?)

Categories
Sunday, November 29, 2020

Posted by Todoroki on September 01, 2013 @ 01:07:26 AM in Anime / Manga



This review will contain minor/mid spoilers.

So to review the previous episodes, the Survey Corps were on a mission to retrieve whatever was inside his house. During that mission a mysterious Female Titan which as classified as an Aberrant Titan. This titan was a big issue for the Survey Corps and many soldiers risked their lives to stop it. Finally, after some teamwork they were able to capture it. However, the Female Titan was able to escape and went after Eren.
[Tags: Attack, On, Titan, 進撃の巨人, review, episode 21, Crushing Blow]
[Source ]
0 Comments
Continue Reading...
Share:

Posted by IceCreamNinja on January 13, 2010 @ 09:32:23 AM in News Articles




No.

No no no no no no NO. A thousand times, no. Get this abomination away from me. Would that I could only somehow pluck this show from the ether like some physical object to be thrown away and summarily forgotten, I would bind it in chains, tie a rock to the chains, throw it in the ocean, and then throw the ocean into outer space. If this show had been around while Dante was still writing his Divine Comedy, he would have had to invent a whole new level of hell just to accommodate the horrifying mind-flaying this show reaps on unsuspecting mortals.

It’s bad, is what I’m saying.
[Tags: Miracle Train, Anime, Review]
[Source ]
1 Comments
Continue Reading...
Share:

Posted by IceCreamNinja on January 07, 2010 @ 09:51:49 AM in News Articles



To Aru Kagaku no Railgun is the anime reproduction of a manga based on a light novel of a side story to the plot of another light novel which also was adapted via manga into an anime series of its own a year or so prior to this series’ run. Does that make this then a sequel, a side story, or a stand-alone series? Don’t answer that question, because despite To Aru Kagaku no Railgun’s pedigree, the one thing all this convoluted history doesn’t make it is good.
[Tags: To Aru Kagaku no Railgun, Anime, Review]
[Source ]
0 Comments
Continue Reading...
Share:

Posted by IceCreamNinja on December 29, 2009 @ 04:14:44 AM in News Articles



Darker than Black: Gemini of the Meteor puts me in a bit of an odd position as a reviewer. The show pulls no punches; immersing the viewer in a magnificently constructed universe that exists with little to no explanation, development or back story offered to make sense of it. The world exists as it does. These are the characters that inhabit it. This is what they can do. Accept it or move on. Such self-confidence in a work is appealing in many ways, and the unexplained questions that arise early in the series and are taken as a matter-of-course for the characters tend to latch on to the viewer and pull them along with the hope that the answers will soon be forthcoming.

Unfortunately, and something that I only found out after six episodes in, was that Darker than Black: Gemini of the Meteor is actually the second season of a previous series that concluded its first season run back in 2007, which therefore meant that some of those interesting questions I had about the show that kept me watching in the hopes of finding an explanation were in fact already dealt with before this season even started.

So…yeaaaaaah.
[Tags: Darker Than Black, Anime, Review]
[Source ]
0 Comments
Continue Reading...
Share:

Posted by Vintniv on December 11, 2009 @ 06:38:00 AM in Video Games




There is something oddly mystifying about treasure hunting. To go out into the wilderness, slay some baddies, and loot a treasure chest with glee. Borderlands, by 2k Games, tries to emphasize just that. You are greeted to the world of the Borderlands by arriving to the planet of Pandora, which is basically a desert hell-hole full of psychopaths and monsters, but having plenty of treasure and a mysterious ancient alien Vault that must be looted. Honestly, what more do you need?

The beginning of the game is my main praising over anything else. You start off by choosing any one of a group of 4 linear characters; the Sniper, the Medic, the Tank, and the Girl. Yes there, must always be a girl, but I love this, it makes the game easy to understand unlike the pain-in-the-arse system that Fallout 3 gave me. In which I spawned into the middle of desert (ironically, just like this game) and was promptly murdered by an enemy some 10 times my own level because the game decided it would be so much more fun not to show me a clear objective. But, Borderlands; you start
[Tags: Borderlands, Review, Video Game, 2k Games]
[Source ]
1 Comments
Continue Reading...
Share:

Posted by IceCreamNinja on November 06, 2009 @ 05:46:32 AM in News Articles



What does it mean to be a god? That’s the question Kannagi seems to be posing over the course of its thirteen episode run. Must a god be an all-knowing, all-powerful being; conscious of their role in the world and the nature of their involvement in human affairs? Must a god, in short, be Godly? Or can they be as flawed and as ignorant as the rest of us?
[Tags: Kannagi, review, anime]
[Source ]
0 Comments
Continue Reading...
Share:

Posted by IceCreamNinja on November 06, 2009 @ 05:18:44 AM in News Articles



Tears to Tiara first found its start on the PC as a Japanese eroge game back in 2005. Naturally, as with any artistic enterprise that bravely and boldly tries to portray the age-old struggle to seek out and acquire titillating sequences of pixelated nudity, one would think the creators undoubtedly chose to first focus their efforts on all the ancillary elements—gameplay, story, the creation of a believable world and characters—that would distinguish their work from their competitors. Imagine the surprise and betrayal then that players must have felt to discover that the game was really nothing more than a knockoff; a work which simply imitated the elements of other mainstream titles while copying common story tropes from anything that seemed even remotely relevant to fill in all the important parts between the videos of animated sex.

Shocking, I know. What sort of age do we live in where XXX titles don’t even have decent stories anymore?
[Tags: Tears to Tiara, review, game]
[Source ]
1 Comments
Continue Reading...
Share:

Posted by OminousCloud on October 01, 2009 @ 09:56:26 AM in Anime / Manga



Usagi Drop (Bunny Drop), an ongoing manga series by Yumi Unita, is easily my favourite Josei manga. Drawn in a clean and simple manner, it follows the struggles of Daikichi, a 30 year old bachelor who, after the death of his grandfather, becomes the guardian of his illegitimate six year old daughter, Rin.

This manga really does have a slice of life feel to it. The plot line is simple and could easily happen in the real world and so too, could you find character types such as those depicted in the manga, in the real world.

Daikichi is represented as being a typical single, male and is quite clueless on the protocols involved in raising a young child. What's refreshing, is the straightforward manner in which Daikichi associates with Rin. He gives a lot of thought to his actions and expressions towards her, all of which are void of any hints of patronisation. It's also interesting that a man of his age can still retain a sense of balanced innocence and experience, especially in the way he deals with women.

Rin herself is a character one can easily grow affectionate towards, just like Daikichi does. Her actions and
[Tags: Usagi Drop, Review, Yumi Unita, Josei, Slice of Life, Yen Press]
[Source ]
0 Comments
Continue Reading...
Share:

Posted by Vintniv on September 14, 2009 @ 02:14:21 PM in Anime / Manga



In all honesty this one took me some thought in order to criticize. I am not really sure whether it has to do with the fact that I avidly collect images of Fate Stay Night to toy with in graphics among other things, but this anime is rather difficult for me. But with anything, there always has to be some sort of flaw or annoyance that must be brought forth to be judged. So here is the basic story, the main hero is Emiya Shiro, an orphan of a massive fire that occurred in some city. He grows up, and he has these magical powers, and through one way or another, gets himself entangled in a war between heroes. The war basically has 7 magicians summoning up one of 7 servants in order to fight in the war itself. When there is only one left, the pair gets the prize, the Holy Grail. The Holy Grail then grants them whatever wish they want or have. So that’s basically it.

Now, first of all, I want to point out that the use of the term ‘war’ is a bit much in this case.
[Tags: Fate Stay Night, fsn, anime, review]
[Source ]
2 Comments
Continue Reading...
Share:

Posted by Vintniv on September 07, 2009 @ 08:47:27 PM in Anime / Manga


I am very hesitant to say this is probably my favorite manga to read. I monitor its releases, occasionally listen to its sound track, and tend to read up on stuff might have over looked. Although I feel no real connection to the characters or villains, and frankly they could all die, respawn new ones and I would probably find it hilariously ironic. But for the sake of it, let’s look at things here. Bleach is probably only second to Naruto in terms of popularity, and if anything is Naruto’s PG-13 older brother. I say that because it’s true. Both animes follow the same general path, where it follows the manga up to a certain point, then divulges on some mindless fillers In order to let the manga develop further. They both have a few movies out for themselves, actions figures (or whatever you call them), trading cards, etc. But, I tend to overlook those things, throw them into a box and try keeping them ‘out of sight out of mind’ to concentrate on the main story line.
[Tags: Bleach, Manga, Naruto, Review]
[Source ]
0 Comments
Continue Reading...
Share:

Posted by Vintniv on September 03, 2009 @ 02:29:04 PM in Anime / Manga
It should be nothing new to say that you know what Naruto is. Much like Harry Potter and Star Wars, Naruto is either something you hate or like and really doesn’t have much to offer in between. Also, because the anime and the manga are essentially the same thing, excluding the anime’s fillers, I figure it would be easier to just collectively do this instead of just making two.

So it’s around 450 manga chapters, some 250 episodes and several movies, and as I said, you either like it or hate it. I do think I know why. Whenever we think of something like that, we tend to also think of its fan base as a type of example of those who read or watch it like we do. In this case, we have the eloquently named ‘Narutard.’ Now, this is kind of mean if one thinks about it. Remember back in the days when you used to watch childish animes like Sailormoon, Dragonball Z, or Pokemon? Do you think those who watched anime or other stuff before you thought very highly of you? How about another one, you grow up as a child and a love Sesame Street, and then
[Tags: Anime, Manga, Review, Serated, Retrospective, Naruto]
[Source ]
0 Comments
Continue Reading...
Share:

Advertisment: Advertisment